BuySellRentRepair

You'll find here everything about electronic musical instruments!

Synthesizers&KeyboardsSound Module/ Tone GeneratorModular SystemsDrum Machines, Percussion SynthsOtherDJSoftware
Electric GuitarsProcessors, Effects, PedalsAmplifiersTuners&metronomes
Category of equipmentCountries/ citiesType/ condition

The company that gave the world the first electric guitar. Rickenbacker instruments - an “integral” part of the music industry. Guitars of the company were played by such bands and performers as "The Beatles", "Pink Floyd", "The Who", "The Kinks", "Deep Purple", Geddy Lee "Rush", Geezer Butler "Black Sabbath", Lemmy Kilmister "Motörhead" and etc.

Brief history/Technical and technological achievements:

Adolf Rickenbacker was a highly qualified engineer-technologist. He was born in Switzerland in 1886. Adolf came to the US when he was very young with his relatives, after the death of both his parents. He originally settled in Wisconsin, but soon, in 1918, he moved to Los Angeles.

In 1925, Adolf and his two partners founded the Rickenbacker Manufacturing Company. The company has become a successful manufacturer of metal products which initiated the use of Bakelite plastic.

The company produced toothbrushes, candlesticks and fountain pens made of Bakelite which is now considered to be one of the first synthetic plastics.

The history of Rickenbacker as a guitar manufacturer began in 1931 at the times when George Bishamp, who once worked for the National String Instrument Company, set out to find new ways of musical instruments sound generating which would eventually increase their volume. He took the acoustic speakers operating principles, electric motors, generators and began to conduct his experiments with a phonograph (the first device for sound playback and recording) - or rather with its needles. He also got down with tube amplifiers and single-string guitars. The washing machine engine appeared to be helpful. A few months later George Bishamp managed to develop his own pickup, which could create an electromagnetic field and amplify the signal coming from the oscillating string. A little bit later George told about his invention to Harry Watson, the manager of the National String Instrument Company, who liked this idea and cut out the wooden neck with an aluminum body for the first model of the electric guitar. This first experimental model was called "Frying Pan" because it reminded the shape of kitchen utensils - and it was made of metal.

A bit later, George Bishamp decided to show his complete guitar prototype to the owner of the company, engaged in the manufacture of metal housings for resonators, whose name was Adolf Rickenbacker. He liked George's idea and soon they created a joint company called Instruments Rickenbackers, thanks to some reliable financial support and Adolf’s impressive network of acquaintances. Together they streamed the production of "frying pans" and every day the popularity of these electric guitars was growing up among musicians of various levels. Thanks to "Frying Pan" the company became the first manufacturer of electric guitars in the world.

But not all instruments were made of iron. Eventually the pickups developed by George began to be installed in wooden guitars, but it took many years for electric guitars to finally appear looking like modern ones. And strangely enough, thanks to the very first "skillet" that was discontinued in 1939, Rickenbacker became a very famous company, and their instruments are popular today.
Legendary models of the company:

Rickenbacker 4000 bass guitar became the first model of the company put into production (1957). It differed considerably from other guitars, since it had a neck mounted through the whole body. This model was equipped with only one pick-up and had a 33.5" (851 mm) scale. This model was discontinued in 1984.

Rickenbacker 4001 - a bass guitar released in 1961, became a modification of the previous model and already had two pickups on its board, as well as a position marking on the fretboard in the form of a triangle. This cult guitar, played by Cliff Burton (Metallica), has been reproduced several times during its production period. Initially it was a modification of Rickenbacker 4001 S and a bit later - Rickenbacker 4001 V63. Rickenbacker 4003 came out in 1979 - a fashionable model with strings on round core wire.

Rickenbacker 325 Capri electric guitar was released in 1958 and is known thanks to John Lennon (The Beatles) who used to play it. Because of the close fret arrangement, this guitar seems to be non-standard and miniature. Still it features a rather small scale which makes it much easier to grab complex chords on the maple neck and quickly change positions. Therefore this electric guitar is most suited to singing guitar players, who play while singing. The sound of the guitar reminds of a semi-acoustic jazz guitar, probably because the maple case has voids inside, that’s why it sounds so ear warming.

КупитьПродатьАрендаРемонт

Вы найдете здесь всё про электромузыкальные инструменты!

КлавишныеЗвук.модуль/ тон-генераторМодульная системаБас, драм, перкуссияДр.инструментыDJПрограммы
ЭлектрогитарыПедали, процессорыУсилителиТюнеры, метрономы
Вид/ тип/ класс инструментаСтраны и нас.пунктыНазначение/ состояние

Рикенбакер   Rickenbacker

Веб-сайтВсе товары (1)

Компания, подарившая миру первую электрогитару. Инструменты «Rickenbacker» — неотъемлемая часть музыкальной индустрии. На гитарах компании играли такие группы и исполнители как «The Beatles», «Pink Floyd», «The Who», «The Kinks», «Deep Purple», Гедди Ли из «Rush», Гизер Батлер из «Black Sabbath», Лемми Килмистер из «Motörhead»…

Краткая история/ Технические и технологические достижения:

Адольф Рикенбакер был высококвалифицированным инженером-технологом. Родился в Швейцарии в 1886 году. Адольф приехал в США, будучи молодым парнем, со своими родственниками, после кончины обоих его родителей. Первоначально он обосновался в штате Висконсин, но вскоре, в 1918 году переехал в Лос-Анджелес.

В 1925 году Адольф и два его партнера основали «Rickenbacker Manufacturing Company». Компания стала успешным производителем металлических изделий и инициатором использования пластика «Bakelite».

Компания производила зубные щетки, подсвечники и перьевые ручки из «Bakelite», который является сейчас одной из первых синтетических пластмасс.

История становления «Rickenbacker», как гитарного производителя начинается в 1931 году в то время, когда Джордж Бишамп, некогда работавший в «National String Instrument Company», задался идеей найти новые способы звучания музыкальных инструментов, которые бы позволили в итоге увеличить их громкость. За основу он взял принцип работы акустических динамиков, электромоторов, генераторов и начал проводить свои эксперименты с фонографом (первый прибор для воспроизведения и записи звука), а точнее с его иглами. В дело также пошли ламповые усилители и однострунная гитара. Двигатель от стиральной машины также оказался кстати. Спустя несколько месяцев Джорджу Бишампу все же удается разработать собственный звукосниматель, который мог создавать электромагнитное поле и усиливать сигнал, поступающий от колеблющейся струны. Немногим позже Джордж рассказал о своем изобретении Гарри Уотсону – управляющему из «National String Instrument Company», которому понравилась эта идея и он взял, да и вырезал деревянный гриф с алюминиевым корпусом для первой модели электрогитары. Эта первая экспериментальная модель получила название «Frying Pan» из-за того, что по форме была очень похожа на кухонную утварь, да и сделана она была из металла.

Чуть позже Джордж Бишамп решил показать свой готовый прототип гитары владельцу фирмы, занимающейся производством металлических корпусов для резонаторов, которого звали Адольф Рикенбакер. Ему понравилась идея Джорджа и вскоре они создали совместную компанию под названием «Instruments Rickenbackers», благодаря финансовому фундаменту и связям Адольфа. Вместе они поставили производство «сковородок» на поток и с каждым днем популярность этих электрогитар постепенно росла среди музыкантов различного уровня. Благодаря «Frying Pan» компания стала первым в мире производителем электрогитар.

Но не все инструменты были из железа. Со временем разработанные Джорджом звукосниматели стали устанавливать и в деревянные гитары, но понадобилось много лет, чтобы наконец-то появились электрогитары, похожие на современные. И как ни странно, но благодаря именно той первой «сковородке», которую сняли с производства в 1939 году, «Rickenbacker» стала очень известной фирмой, а их инструменты продаваемы и популярны по сей день.

Легендарные модели компании:

Бас-гитара «Rickenbacker 4000» стала первой производственной моделью компании в 1957 году. Она принципиально отличалась от других гитар, так как имела крепление грифа, которое было расположено вдоль всего корпуса. Эта модель была оснащена всего лишь одним звукоснимателем и имела мензуру 33,5” (851 мм). Выпускалась эта модель до 1984 года.

«Rickenbacker 4001» – бас-гитара, выпущенная в 1961 году, стала модификацией предыдущей модели и уже имела на своем борту два звукоснимателя, а также позиционную разметку на накладке грифа в форме треугольника. Эта культовая гитара, на которой играл Клифф Бертон (Metallica), за все время ее производства несколько раз была перевыпущена. Вначале это была модификация «Rickenbacker 4001 S» и немного позднее – «Rickenbacker 4001 V63». 1979 году вышла «Rickenbacker 4003» – модная модель со струнами с круглой обмоткой.

Электрогитара «Rickenbacker 325 Capri» была выпущена в 1958 году и известна она тем, что на ней когда-то играл Джон Леннон (The Beatles). Из-за близкого расположения ладов относительно друг друга, эта гитара кажется на первый взгляд нестандартной и миниатюрной. Еще на ней довольно маленькая мензура, что существенно облегчает брать на кленовом грифе даже сложные аккорды и быстро менять позиции. Поэтому эта электрогитара больше всего подходила поющим гитаристам, которые аккомпанируют себе. Звучание гитары напоминает полуакустические джазовые гитары, наверное, потому что кленовый корпус внутри имеет пустоты, благодаря подобной «фишке» звук приятный и чистый.