BuySellRentRepair

You'll find here everything about electronic musical instruments!

Synthesizers&KeyboardsSound Module/ Tone GeneratorModular SystemsDrum Machines, Percussion SynthsOtherDJSoftware
Electric GuitarsProcessors, Effects, PedalsAmplifiersTuners&metronomes
Countries/ cities

Logan Electronics

Logan String Melody portable keyboard was in production from 1973 to 1982 being released in two versions. The instrument was manufactured under the brand name Logan, as well as a product of Hohner company. The keyboard was made in Italy.

The polyphonic instrument was characterized by such specs as a variable gain amplifier, as well as a BBD (Bucket Brigade Delay) chorus, which gave the sound that synth string section nuance.

The 4-octave keyboard supported split function (the lower zone was meant for Bass, the upper one was called Treble), each of which could combine 3 string sounds (Cello, Viola and Violin) using faders, including not only individual but also global ones for each zone - sustain and release, the lower range of sounds could be sculpted by using the Bass and Perc faders. Percussion bass sounds reminded more of a percussion sub bass with a pretty quick attack parameter. The different sounds were pitched in an octave from each other.
The first version of Logan String Melody had an Orchestra button with pre-patched settings that disabled fader functions for string voices. In 1977, the second version of the String Melody II instrument was released, which added 4 new presets: O (light chorus effect), ACC (accordion), SOLO (vibrato effect with the addition of chorus) and ORGAN (another nice phaser-like chorus).

As for the purely technical aspect, the sound generating started with a high-frequency square wave generator, then the signal was routed to the frequency divider, Mostek MK50240N integrated circuit (often used in the electronic organs back then, for the lower octaves SAJ210 were introduced). A square wave passed through a variable gain amplifier, then it was processed by a mixer, chorus and filter. Monophonic bass of the lower keyboard zone didn’t pass through the amplifier, but was affected by a low-pass filter. The chorus comprised two modules: a dual LFO and a triple oscillator, using a delay line as the main timing element (delay line oscillator). The oscillator was based on 3 TCA350 circuits - 185 MOS chain sampled an audio signal, FM modulated subsequently by a dual LFO.

String Melody may not have as many editable parameters as similar synthesizers produced by Roland or ARP, however, the instrument sounds excellent and by no means is a simpler alternative - String Melody has its own unique character of an Italian string synthesizer.
Initially, the keyboard was produced under the hardly known brand Logan Electronics. The second version of the keyboard brought the brand greater commercial success, and today you might find the “mark II” version of the synthesizer on the second-hand market. The original one is a real rarity. But why is Logan Electronics so hard to find as a brand of full value? It's because outside of Italy String Melody was distributed by Hohner International. Those instruments were badged Hohner String Melody.

КупитьПродатьАрендаРемонт

Вы найдете здесь всё про электромузыкальные инструменты!

КлавишныеЗвук.модуль/ тон-генераторМодульная системаБас, драм, перкуссияДр.инструментыDJПрограммы
ЭлектрогитарыПедали, процессорыУсилителиТюнеры, метрономы
Вид/ тип/ класс инструментаСтраны и нас.пунктыНазначение/ состояние

Логан Электроникс   Logan Electronics

Портативная клавиатура Logan String Melody выпускалась с 1973 по 1982 год в двух версиях. Инструмент выпускался как под именем бренда Logan, так и в качестве продукта компании Hohner. Клавиатура производилась в Италии.

Полифонический инструмент характеризовался наличием усилителя с переменным коэффициентом усиления, а также BBD (Bucket Brigade Delay) хорусом, который придавал звучанию оттенок голосов струнной секции синтезатора.

4-октавная клавиатура поддерживает деление на зоны (нижняя – Bass, верхняя - Treble), каждая из которых может комбинировать 3 струнных звука (Cello, Viola и Violin) с использованием фейдеров, включающих не только индивидуальные, но и общие для каждой зоны сустейн и затухание, нижний диапазон звуков можно регулировать с помощью Bass и Perc фейдеров. Перкуссионные бас звуки напоминают скорее перкусионный саб бас с довольно быстрой атакой. Питч звуков находится в октаве друг от друга.
Первая версия Logan String Melody имела кнопку Orchestra с пропатченными установками, выключающими функции фейдеров для струнных голосов. В 1977 вышла вторая версия инструмента String Melody II, которая добавила 4 новых пресета: O (легкий эффект хоруса), ACC (аккордион), SOLO (вибрато эффект с добавлением хоруса) и ORGAN (еще один приятный хорус - в стиле фейзера).

Что касается чисто технического аспекта, звукопорождение начиналось с высокочастотного генератора квадратной волны, затем сигнал направлялся на частотный делитель, интегральную схему Mostek MK50240N (нередко использовались в электроорганах того времени, для нижних октав ставились SAJ210 делители). Квадратная волна проходила усилитель с переменным коэффициентом усиления, после чего обрабатывалась микшером, хорусом и фильтром. Монофонический бас нижней зоны клавиатуры не проходил через усилитель, но затрагивался низкочастотным фильтром. Хорус состоял из двух модулей: двойного LFO и тройного осциллятора, использующего линию задержки в качестве основного тайминг элемента (delay line oscillator). Осциллятор основывался на 3 TCA350 схемах – цепочке 185 MOS, сэмплирующих аудио сигнал, впоследствии FM модулируемый двойным LFO.

String Melody может не иметь так много редактируемых параметров, как подобные синтезаторы производства Roland или ARP, тем не менее, звучит инструмент превосходно и ни в коем случае не является альтернативой попроще - String Melody имеет свой уникальный характер итальянского струнного синтезатора.

Изначально клавиатура выпускалась под едва ли известной маркой Logan Electronics. Вторая версия инструмента принесла бренду больший успех, и сегодня на б/у рынке можно встретить именно этот вариант синтезатора. Оригинальная модель – настоящая редкость. А вот почему Logan Electronics трудно найти в качестве самостоятельного бренда, так это потому что за пределами Италии String Melody распространялся компанией Hohner International. Такие инструменты и назывались соответственно Hohner String Melody.