BuySellRentRepair

You'll find here everything about electronic musical instruments!

Synthesizers&KeyboardsSound Module/ Tone GeneratorModular SystemsDrum Machines, Percussion SynthsOtherDJSoftware
Electric GuitarsProcessors, Effects, PedalsAmplifiersTuners&metronomes
Countries/ cities

Intellijel Designs Inc is a Canadian company that develops and manufactures electronic music devices and specializes in modular synthesis products in Eurorack format.

The Intellijel brand was founded in Vancouver thanks to the efforts of Danjel van Tijn. He had a deep passion for analog synthesis modules and together with other people who were interested van Tijn created his own business. And since analog synthesizers at that time were as popular again as they ever been the first manufactured and released series of 50 modules was sold out within a few weeks. David Dixon is the chief developer of the company.

Dixie series of oscillators happened to be quite popular. The first 4HP model featured a powerful VCO and LFO. The oscillator could generate 6 waveforms: triangle, sine, sawtooth, pulse, square, and a unique shape of zigzag. Tracking accuracy is 0.1% within 8 octaves. Dixie Ctrl released in 2012 was an additional control module for Eurorack format synthesizer systems. Dixie II oscillator module (2012) featured high accuracy and classic VCO and LFO (this time - 6HP), as well as a large number of simultaneous waveforms. However, despite its great potential the module was characterized by convenient small dimensions. Dixie II + released in 2015 appeared as an extended version of Dixie II model which was perfectly compatible with other modules and became the irreplaceable partner of Rubicon oscillator.

Rubicon, the module with analog VCO, was released in 2012 and according to the tradition of the brand it is compatible with synthesizers in Eurorack format. Rubicon had FM synthesis capabilities based on the famous DX7 synthesizer by the famous Japanese brand Yamaha. Rubicon resulted from David Dickson's yearly experiments with printed circuit boards - he once began work on the introduction of the newest approach - TZFM - thru-zero frequency modulation. Thus Rubicon is represented by a switchable linear as well as an exponential TZFM for the first time used in a modular synthesizer. Among features it’s worth to list 12 waveforms, symmetry control, soft and hard synchronization, pulse-width modulation and exponential FM with assigned attenuators.

The unique and funny vector mixer module and Planar panner (2012) allowed only with the help of several audio and CV sources many manipulations (CV joystick can be used to modify signals processed by VCA). This made it possible to quickly achieve complex sounds which can be easily controlled and altered. The CV input will seem very useful when coordinated with the CV recorder: for example, you can record the modulation of the X and Y outputs, turn off the joystick and play the modulation into X and Y inputs - this will reveal the benefits of the quad pan function.

The Quadra-module of the 4-channel envelope generator (2012) includes four parallel envelope generators. The Quadra function has 3 modes: AD (Attack, Decay), ASR (Attack, Sustain, Release) - in some sources referred to as AHR with a middle link "Hold" - and Cycle (loop the envelope). An additional Eurorack control module Quadra Expander 2012 included VC Attack and Decay, Quadrature modes, EOC outputs and analog OR circuits.

Intellijel Atlantis released in 2013 was the module inspired by the architecture of Roland SH-101 which became the favorite synthesizer of Intellijel for providing an example of how a rather ascetic structure could produce such an impressive variety of sounds. Atlantis uses oscillators like the VCOs Dixie used to incorporate. The instrument has a switch labeled "Link" which allowed VCO pitch to act as the offset of the primary VCO. The filter section included filters in the style of the cascaded 12 dB multimode Roland with LP (including the LP Boost function for more saturated tones that do not sink in resonance as opposed to the original filter in SH-101), BP and HP modes. Between Mod VCO, Primary VCO, a subwoofer and a resonant filter, you can simultaneously apply up to 4 different pitches. The global modulation bus offers 4 VCO waveforms, noise and sample&hold. The VCA output offers a two-stage clipping scheme.

The creators of the Korgasmatron filter (2013) were inspired by Korg MS20 model with a dual multimode filter and a unique resonance adjust. Filters can work either in series or in parallel. Dixon created a completely new scheme based on ssm2164 VCA chips. This design is able to imitate Korg but in some ways it’s even more variable. So despite the name it's not a copy – it’s a self-sufficient creation. Korgasmatron II model increased the capabilities of the previous version by including 6-mode filters and an expander for CV control. Korgasmatron II Expander came out with the advanced capabilities of Korgasmatron II including inputs for each filter and VC resonance.

Cylonix series (2013) included Cylonix Shapeshifter (a module featuring two wavetable oscillators for Eurorack modular synthesizers). Cylonix Rainmaker (Eurorack format module for high quality stereo); Cylonix Cyclebox II (VCO complex); Cyclebox Expander (improved Cyclebox II with smaller dimensions). Cylonix Shapeshifter is based on FPGA board maximizing its capabilities. Each VCO allows you to choose from 128 banks of wavetables (and each has 8 individual waveforms “built” from 512 samples). Oscillator 1 can operate in chord mode which activates 8 copies of the oscillator simultaneously offering a detuning function. In addition there are 8 synchronization modes with the possibility of internal subwoofer synchronization.

Mutamix by the brand is a 6-channel CV/audio mixer. The instrument has fully digital control. The X-Mode function made it possible, thanks to the voltage passing through 6 channels, to consider the instrument an outstanding sequencer.

Step sequencer and module for Eurorack systems – Metropolis - was also released in 2013. The developers were inspired by the model RYK M-185 (Roland System 100m sequencer). Metropolis has many extra improvements and features. The instrument included 8 “stages", each with its own assigned gate mode, pulse count and pitch value. Each of them can also activate the slide function (similar to the portamento function in TB-303) or skip. Sequencer settings are “tweaked” and adjusted with sliders and switches, there is also a full control menu and auxiliary modifiers allowing the musician to work in different modes. The sequencer has 10 modes and among other features there are: quantization in any key (with a choice of 30 scales), a master clock with BPM control or a detector (when it comes to an external clock), a built-in clock divider that can also be used to synchronize the stages and two assignable AUX inputs.
We should also mention some special micromodules: μAtt, μMod, μFade, μVCA, HexVCA, μStep, Plog and Flip flop. These modules are not considered standalone because they rely on the potential of other modules of the system.

Recently Canadian companies have begun to play a significant role in the revival of modular synthesizers. So the legionaries on the music market at the moment are two quite popular manufacturers: Modcan - the first company which reintroduces modular synthesizers to the MIDI equipment market and, of course, already familiar to us Intellijel. The Vancouver brand is now one of the fastest growing and respected companies producing their own line of modules.

КупитьПродатьАрендаРемонт

Вы найдете здесь всё про электромузыкальные инструменты!

КлавишныеЗвук.модуль/ тон-генераторМодульная системаБас, драм, перкуссияДр.инструментыDJПрограммы
ЭлектрогитарыПедали, процессорыУсилителиТюнеры, метрономы
Вид/ тип/ класс инструментаСтраны и нас.пунктыНазначение/ состояние

Интеллихиель   Intellijel

Веб-сайтВидео-каналЗвуки

Intellijel Designs Inc ‒ это канадская компания, которая занимается разработкой и выпуском электронных музыкальных устройств и специализируется в большей степени на продукции модульного синтеза формата Eurorack.

Бренд Intellijel был основан в Ванкувере благодаря стараниям Дэниэла Ван Тижна. Он питал глубокую страсть к аналоговым модулям синтеза и, объединившись с другими заинтересованными в этом деле людьми, Ван Тижн создаёт свой бизнес. А так как аналоговые синтезаторы получили в то время внезапный всплеск популярности, то первая изготовленная и выпущенная серия из 50 модулей была распродана в течение нескольких недель. Дэвид Диксон является главным разработчиком инструментов компании.

Популярность обрела серия осцилляторов Dixie. Первая модель представила собой мощный VCO и LFO в миниатюрном корпусе 4HP. Осциллятор мог генерировать 6 форм звуковой волны: triangle, sine, sawtooth, pulse, square, и уникальную форму zigzag. Точность отслеживания составляет 0,1% в рамках 8 октав. Модель Dixie Ctrl, вышедшая в 2012 явила собой дополнительный модуль управления для синтезаторных систем формата Eurorack. Модуль осциллятора Dixie II (2012 год) отличался высокой точностью и классическими VCO и LFO на сей раз расширившись до 6HP, а также большим количеством одновременных форм волны. Однако, несмотря на свои большие возможности, модуль характеризовался удобными небольшими габаритами. Dixie II+, вышедший уже в 2015 предстал как расширенный вариант модели Dixie II, отлично сочетающийся с модулями и ставший бессменным компаньоном осциллятора Rubicon.

Модуль c аналоговым VCO Rubicon был выпущен в 2012 году и по традиции бренда рассчитывается на синтезаторы формата Eurorack. Rubicon обладал возможностями FM-синтеза звука по принципу известного синтезатора DX7 от японского бренда Yamaha. Rubicon стал финалом годовых экспериментов Дэвида Диксона с печатными платами, который когда-то начал работу по внедрению новейшего подхода - TZFM - thru-zero frequency modulation. Таким образом Rubicon представлен переключаемой линейной, а также впервые примененной в модульном синтезаторе экспоненциальной TZFM. В ряду особенностей стоит перечислить 12 волноформ, контроль симметрии, софт и хард синхронизацию, широтно-импульсную модуляцию и экспоненциальный FM с назначенными аттенюаторами.

Модель уникального и забавного модуля векторного микшера и паннера Planar 2012 года позволила всего лишь с помощью нескольких аудио и CV источников и взаимных манипуляций (CV джойстик можно использовать для модификации сигналов, обработанных VCA). Это сделало доступным быстрое получение сложных звуков, которые можно легко контролировать и менять. CV вход покажется весьма полезным при координации с CV рекордером: например, можно записать модуляцию X и Y выходов, выключить джойстик и проиграть модуляцию в X и Y входы - это раскроет преимущества функции четверного панорамирования.

Quadra-модуль четырехканального генератора огибающей 2012 года включает в себя четыре параллельных генератора (Envelope Generator). Функция Quadra имеет три режима: AD (Attack, Decay), ASR (Attack, Sustain, Release) - в некоторых источниках именуемый как AHR со средним звеном "hold" - и Cycle (добавляет лупы огибающей). Дополнительный модуль управления для синтезаторных систем формата Eurorack Quadra Expander 2012 включил в себя VC Attack и Decay, режимы Quadrature, EOC-выходы и аналоговые схемы OR.

Intellijel Atlantis, вышедший в 2013 году, представил собой модуль, создание которого было навеяно архитектурой Roland SH-101, ставшего любимым синтезатором Intellijel за поданный пример того, как довольно аскетичная структура может выдавать такое разнообразие звуков. Atlantis использует генераторы наподобие тех VCO, что составляют Dixie. Инструмент имеет переключатель с надписью «Link», который позволяет питчу VCO выступать в качестве офсета первичного VCO. Фильтр-секция включила фильтры в стиле каскадного 12 Дб мультирежимного Roland с LP (включая функцию LP Boost для более насыщенных тонов, не тонущих в резонансе в отличие от оригинального фильтра в SH-101), BP и HP режимами. Между Mod VCO, Primary VCO, саб генератором и резонирующим фильтром можно одновременно наложить до 4 различных питчей. Глобальная шина модуляции предлагает 4 VCO волноформы, шум и устройство выборки и хранения. На VCA выходе предлагается двухступенчатая клиппинг схема.

Создатели фильтра Korgasmatron (2013 год) были вдохновлены моделью Korg MS20 с двойным многорежимным фильтром и уникальным регулятором резонанса. Фильтры могут работать как последовательно, так и параллельно. Диксон создал абсолютно новую схему, основанную на VCA чипах ssm2164. Этот дизайн способен подражать Коргу, но в некотором роде является более вариативным. Так что несмотря на название, это не копия, независимое творение. Модель Korgasmatron II увеличила возможности предыдущей версии, включив 6-режимные фильтры и расширитель для управления CV. Korgasmatron II Expander вышел с расширенными возможностями Korgasmatron II, включив входы для каждого фильтра и резонанс VC.

Серия 2013 года Cylonix включила модели Cylonix Shapeshifter (модуль двух таблично-волновых осцилляторов для синтезаторных систем формата Eurorack.); Cylonix Rainmaker (модуль эффектов Eurorack формата, обеспечивающий высокое качество стерео); Cylonix Cyclebox II (комплекс VCO); Cyclebox Expander (улучшенная Cyclebox II в меньших габаритах). Cylonix Shapeshifter строится вокруг FPGA платы, доведенной до максимума своих возможностей. Каждый VCO позволяет выбирать из 128 банков волновых таблиц (и каждая насчитывает по 8 индивидуальных волноформ, собранных из 512 сэмплов). Осциллятор 1 может оперировать в режиме аккорда, который приводит в действие одновременно 8 копий осциллятора, предлагая функцию расстраивания. Помимо того здесь есть 8 режимов синхронизации, с возможностью внутренней синхронизации с саб генератором.

Mutamix от бренда ‒ шестиканальный cv/audio микшер. Инструмент обладает полностью цифровым контролем. Функция X-Mode позволила, благодаря введению напряжения через 6 каналов, сделать инструмент выдающимся секвенсором.

Пошаговый секвенсер и модуль для синтезаторных систем формата Eurorack Metropolis вышел также в 2013 году. Разработчики были вдохновлены моделью RYK М-185 (секвенсером формата Roland System 100m). Metropolis обладает большим количеством дополнительных улучшений и функций. Инструмент включил 8 "стадий", каждая со своим назначаемым gate режимом, подсчётом импульса и значением питча. Каждая из них также может активировать функцию slide (похожую на функцию портаменто в TB-303) или skip.  Настройки секвенсера осуществляются посредством слайдеров и переключателей, есть также полное меню управления и вспомогательные модификаторы, позволяющие музыканту работать в разных режимах. Секвенсер насчитывает 10 режимов и среди прочих особенностей такие, как квантизация в любом ключе (с выбором из 30 шкал), мастер клок с BPM контролем или детектором, если речь о внешнем "клоке", встроенный clock divider, который также может использоваться для синхронизации стадий и два назначаемых AUX входа.

Не без внимания остаются специальные микромодули: μAtt, μMod, μFade, μVCA, HexVCA, μStep, Plog и Flip flop. Данные модули не считаются самодостаточными и опираются на то, чтобы раскрыть потенциал других модулей системы.

В последнее время канадские компании вновь стали играть значительную роль в возрождении модульных синтезаторов. Так легионерами на музыкальном рынке на данный момент являются два достаточно популярных производителя: Modcan - как первая компания, вновь вводящая модульные синтезаторы на рынок MIDI-оборудования и, конечно же, уже знакомая нам Intellijel. Ванкуверский бренд сейчас является одним из наиболее быстрорастущих и уважаемых компаний, выпускающих свою линию модулей.